The mission of Wisconsin River Rail Transit Commission (WRRTC) is to preserve and protect the publicly-owned railroad corridors throughout southern Wisconsin and northern Illinois. 

Established by Charter in 1982, WRRTC is made of appointed representatives from Crawford, Dane, Grant, GreenIowa, Jefferson, Rock, Sauk, Walworth, and Waukesha Counties.  The Commission collaborates closely with the Wisconsin Department of Transportation (WDOT) and Wisconsin and Southern Railroad (WSOR) to see that their communities have quality and reliable access to freight rail service.  WRRTC helps communities in southern Wisconsin be economically competitive through connection to the national rail system.